The Islamische Gemeinde Wuppertal e.V.

A place of encounter, support and conversation, helping each other in problems, finding solutions and cultivating culture and traditions together.

Our mission

Living together

It is important to us to be able to live peacefully together and for this reason we support our members in integrating into society, offering language courses for children and adults, especially for mothers, and conducting integration courses in order to create a relaxed relationship in society.

Other objectives we pursue are the promotion of intercultural dialogue, the active participation in integration work and the regional and supra-regional cooperation work of associations. Because we are a member of the Central Council of Muslims in Germany LV-NRW, the Association of Islamic Communities NRW and the Unterbarmer Bürgerverein.


The Islamic Community Wuppertal e. V. is the supporting association of the Abu Bakr Mosque. The congregation was founded in 1967 as a loose association of devout Muslims of Moroccan descent and was established as an association in 1979, making the Abu Bakr Mosque the oldest mosque in Wuppertal. The community’s mosque is a religious space that invites prayer and reflection. But it is also a place of meeting and conversation, where people help each other with problems and cultivate culture and traditions together.
In addition to its religious work, the association is increasingly focusing on integration work and has set itself cross-association goals through the regular acceptance and implementation of various projects.

You would like to support us?

DONATE and support our association.

Donate quickly and easily with a direct donation receipt and support our new building of our Abu Bakr-Mosque for more space in our community. You are welcome to either make a monthly donation or make a one-time donation. We look forward to any donation, big or small, and say right now:

Thank you for your support!


New building | Abu-Bakr-Moschee

Here you can find out more about the current status of our new Abu Bakr Mosque.

Our principles

Our community is dedicated to the history and culture of Islam. We are about people meeting, getting to know and growing together, full of mutual respect and helpfulness.


We support our members with language courses for integration but also teach the Arabic language in spoken and written form.


By explaining our path to each other, we can grow together and find a language together to share the richness of our spiritual tradition with people.


Especially at a time when hatred and enmity are so often stirred up, it is important for us to promote tolerance, understanding and harmony through enlightenment and cooperation, as well as to counter the manifestations of group-based hostility to humanity.

There should be no compulsion in faith.
Certainly, truth is clearly distinguishable from misconception ; So whoever does not allow themself to be guided by the seducer and believes in Allah, they has surely seized a strong grip that knows no breaking; and Allah is All-Hearing, All-Knowing”

– Sura 2 Al-Baqara, Vers 257


Frequently asked questions

What does the word Islam mean?

The word Islam means dedication to God.
Islam in Arabic goes back to the root s-l-m and can reflect different meanings depending on the derivative. The Arabic verb aslama (Heinz Halm, Der Islam, 2000) means “to hand over, to surrender, to give oneself over”. Furthermore, the forms silm and salam are derived. According to a translation by Yaşar Nuri Öztürk (400 Questions on Islam, 20009), silm means surrender, peace and trust, while salam means happiness, well-being and confidence. The Qur’an says in this regard: “Whoever surrenders to God (aslama) and is righteous in doing so, they are entitled to a reward from their Lord” ( 2:112). Likewise, in Sura 10, verse 25, we read: “God calls to the abode of peace.”

So at its core, the word Islam implies belief in the existence and oneness of God, devotion to God, peace, trust, happiness and well-being.

What are the five pillars of Islam?

Islam is based on five pillars (arkān), which reflect the essential beliefs of the religion and decisively shape the life of a believing Muslim. The first, and thus the central pillar, is the profession of faith (aš-šahāda): “I testify that there is no deity but God and that Muhammad is the messenger of God.” With this, one professes Islam. Ritual prayer (as-ṣalāh) is the second pillar of Islam. It prescribes the Muslim to perform the prayer five times a day – in the morning, at noon, in the afternoon, in the evening and at night. The third pillar involves fasting in the month of Ramadan (as-ṣiyām), followed by the annual obligatory offering (az-zakāh) and the pilgrimage to Mecca (al-Ḥaǧǧ) for anyone who is materially able.

Why is it forbidden for Muslims to eat pork?

In Islam, all foods are permitted that are among the “good things of life” (5:4). Only those foods are forbidden which are clearly determined by the Qur’an and the Sunnah. These include pork: “He has forbidden you only carrion, and blood, and the flesh of swine, and that upon which any name other than God’s has been invoked; . . . ” (2:173). Similarly it occurs in Sura 16:115. No specific reason is given for the ban. Although nowadays Muslims find many different explanations for the prohibition, it does not change the fact that no explicit justification can be found in the Islamic sources. It is assumed that God forbids only those things that are harmful to man. Thus, Islam follows the tradition of Judaism and the Old Testament in prohibiting the consumption of pork.

What is the meaning of Halal and Haram?

The word Halal means “pure, permitted” and refers to all actions and things that are religiously permitted and for which there are no restrictions. Haram, the religiously forbidden, refers to those things that are clearly forbidden in Islamic sources. Everything that is not forbidden is allowed and is called halal. Thus all things are to be regarded as permitted until they are expressly forbidden. It is therefore understandable that the number of restrictions is significantly lower than the number of permitted actions.

How often should Muslims pray a day?

Ritual prayer (ṣalāh) is the second pillar of Islam. It requires Muslims to perform prayer five times a day. Thus, the five prayers were named after the times of day:

  • faǧr (dawn),
  • ẓuhr (noon),
  • ‘asr (afternoon),
  • maġrib (evening) and
  • ‘ischā (night)

The direction of prayer is the Kaaba. Before prayer the ritual ablution (wudu’) must be performed.

What are the six principles of faith in Islam?

The six principles of faith (ʿaqīda) express the central contents of the Islamic doctrine in which Muslims must believe in order to be considered as such. The first and central principle of faith is the belief in the unity and uniqueness of God, followed by the belief in the angels, in the revealed books, in the messengers of God, in the Last Day as well as in Providence.


Islamische Gemeinde Wuppertal e.V.

Wittensteinstr. 190
42285 Wuppetal

Phone.: 0202 884772

Social Media

Follow us on Instagram and Facebook to stay up to date!